DeepReflection, DesignThinking, Education, Empathy

The JamCam Experience: Memoirs of an Innovative Teacher in an Ever Changing World

CB1FF7EC-EFA2-40F0-8112-99FE5D80F6BB

Allow me to introduce myself. I am James Campbell – Educator, Learner, Connector and Design Thinker.  I am also a husband, father, son, cousin, uncle, teacher, coach and a host of other things.  I attempted to identify the four words that best describe me and how I am connected to others but could also describe me if I were to stand alone.  In August of 2015, I shared with my co-workers my personal life mission: Assist 10,000 people in exploring and developing their Creative Confidence.  Over the course of this school year, I feel I have made progress on this mission but I do not have the numbers to back it up.  I have discovered my biggest gap exploring my Creative Confidence.  

I tend to be an encourager as I try to inspire students to pursue their passion.  I strive to help others share the best they have to offer.  I give space and time (sometimes at my detriment) for others to gain creative confidence.  What about me?

So it is now April and I am dealing with the closing of another school year and the mad rush to complete the many tasks that all teachers must accomplish.  My dilemma: I do not just want to finish the year exhausted and My Bucket Empty.  I need to fill my bucket and find my passion. I need to explore my creative confidence and strive to share my best.  I need to share my story.

I am switching gears in my thinking.  I plan to focus on identifying my passion.  I hope to explore my creative confidence.  I will seek and share my strengths and weakness.  I will make myself vulnerable to criticism and feedback from the outside world.

If you are reading this initial post, I hope you will read others.  Since I am not using Grammly and I write “fill” when I should “feel”. Please feel free to comment with edit recommendations.  If you start noticing patterns and consistent behaviors, please point them out.  If you identify strengths I should explore or weakness I need to conquer, please speak up.  Hopefully my rambling will free you up to explore your own Creative Confidence, Pursue Your Passions and Share your Story.  Thanks for reading.   

Standard

Leave a Reply

